You don’t need a Kindle to read Kindle books.

owl-158411_1280
image credit https://pixabay.com/en/owl-animal-bird-book-e-book-funny-158411/

I’ve been reading ebooks for over five years and now download most of the books I read onto my Kindle instead of buying paperbacks.

At first I had the basic, cheapest Kindle which only weighs 166 grammes and is very easy to use.

When I bought an iPad mini I downloaded the Kindle App so now I read ebooks on the iPad as well.

If you want to read Kindle books but don’t want the expense of buying a Kindle,

just go to this page on the Amazon site and download the free app for your preferred device.

As well as iPad there’s an app for laptop, P.C., phone, tablet etc. Just follow this link to the Kindle Store and start reading some fantastic ebooks at very reasonable prices.

I keep meeting people who say they would like to read one of our books but they don’t have a Kindle. I blame “Downton Abbey” which had an Amazon Kindle sponsored advert before each episode and in all the commercial breaks! I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve explained that you don’t need a Kindle to read Kindle books.

I’ve posted about this on my other blogs over the years and thought I’d mention it here in case any readers don’t know about the free Kindle app.

You know I like quotes.

How about these:

Stephen Fry:

“Books are no more threatened by Kindle than stairs by elevators.”

Douglas Adams

“Lovers of print are simply confusing the plate for the food.”

Penelope Lively

“It seems to me that anyone whose library consists of a Kindle lying on a table is some sort of bloodless nerd.”

Charlie Brooker

“Until recently, I was an ebook sceptic, see; one of those people who harrumphs about the “physical pleasure of turning actual pages” and how ebook will “never replace the real thing”. Then I was given a Kindle as a present. That shut me up. Stock complaints about the inherent pleasure of ye olde format are bandied about whenever some new upstart invention comes along. Each moan is nothing more than a little foetus of nostalgia jerking in your gut. First they said CDs were no match for vinyl. Then they said MP3s were no match for CDs. Now they say streaming music services are no match for MP3s. They’re only happy looking in the rear-view mirror.”

Have a good day!

Cathy

Catch me on Twitter most days at @spurwing_ or on my website blog.

 

Leave a Reply

