Best Wishes for 2016

It’s a bit late but Happy New Year and best wishes for 2016.

Wishing you aHappy New Year2016

 

In the post-holiday period I’ve been reviewing my blogs and websites.

I’m planning to change my Cabbage and Semolina Blog.

When I started the blog in 2014, I used it for recording memories of my 1950s childhood. That lead to my ebook Cabbage and Semolina. Lots of readers have downloaded the book and some have even left reviews on the Amazon website. I didn’t expect the book to do so well although, obviously, I hoped it would. I’ve been delighted at the number of copies that have been downloaded and at the moment there are 95 reviews. Most of the reviews are very positive and I really appreciate readers taking the time to share their thoughts about the book.

I didn’t write many posts for my Cabbage and Semolina Blog in 2015. I had an idea that I would explore my family life through the places where we lived and the holidays we went on but I didn’t get very far.

In 2016 I’ll probably write a few more of those sort of blogposts but I’m going to write more generally about the era when I was growing up.  I’m also planning to branch out into other topics so I’ve changed the tag-line to “Cathy Murray’s Blog” instead of “1950s Memories”. I don’t know what I’m going to write about but I hope you’ll keep returning to my blog to find out!

Recently, several acquaintances have expressed an interest in reading Cabbage and Semolina but said they couldn’t because they didn’t own a Kindle.

No Problem, I’ve told them.

You don’t need a Kindle to read Kindle books.

Huh?

You do need an Amazon account.

Doesn’t everyone have an Amazon account?

Apparently not but it’s easy enough to sign in to the Amazon website and get one.

Then go on the bookpage of the book you  want to read and get the free App.

kindle app 2Just click the link below the cover image and follow the instructions. The App works on all devices such as phones, tablets, laptops, PCs. If you have an iPad or iPhone you can get the Kindle App from the Apple iStore.

The App works just as well as the Kindle. I use an early version Kindle and the App on my iPad. The display varies from one device to the other but both are fine.

The App is FREE and so are a lot of Kindle books. Or if not free, at least low-cost. Cabbage and Semolina is £0.99p / $0.99.

So if you, or someone you know, wants to read Kindle books but don’t want to purchase a Kindle, get the App.

In one of my posts last year, I inserted a link to my Cabbage and Semolina Pinterest board.

I have a Pinterest board for the 1950s

which has some lovely photos, especially fashion, which you can check out if you click the board below.

I’ve noticed that some devices don’t pick up embedded Pinterest links so if you’re just looking at a blank space above try this https://uk.pinterest.com/magbrit/1950s/ 

Thanks for reading my blog and hope to see you here again another day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

