I bet it was a Bank Holiday Monday judging by the rain macs.

In the mid-1950s we went to live on a new council housing estate at Kettlethorpe.

(See the previous blogpost.)

I’ve pinned some of the images I found on my Cabbage and Semolina Pinterest board.

The school buildings were brand new when I started attending the Infants school in 1956.

This is a great photo of the ladies associated with the Kettlethorpe Working Men’s Club going on an outing. I wonder where they were off to. Bridlington? Scarborough? Cleethorpes? Skegness?

I bet it was a Bank Holiday Monday judging by the rain macs.

When August Bank Holiday Monday was introduced in 1871 it was on the first Monday in August.

It wasn’t moved to the end of August until 1965. At first they picked the last Saturday in August for the holiday weekend which meant that sometimes the Bank Holiday Monday actually occurred in September. Apparently the intention was to extend the summer holiday period but I don’t re-call that the school holidays got any longer.

Anyway, when I was a child in the 1950s the Bank Holiday would have been on the first Monday of the month.

It always seemed to rain on August Bank Holiday Monday, or at least there were showers.

The Meteorogical Office Archive summarises the August weather:

1951 Unsettled; rather cool and wet on the whole.

1952 Wet on the whole; heavy rainstorms in the south.

1953 Mainly fair, then changeable.

1954 Cool and dull, mainly wet in England, Wales and southern Scotland.

1955 Sunny and mostly dry apart from thunderstorms.

1956 Cool, thundery and very wet.

1957 Warm at first, then rather cool and wet.

1958 Generally dull and unsettled.

1959 Warm, sunny and very dry apart from outbreaks of thundery rain.

So, I think my memory is reasonably accurate!

It probably did always rain on Bank Holiday Monday in the 1950s!

You can check out the Met Office Archive for yourself at http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/archive/monthly-weather-report

and I hope you have a very enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend whatever the weather.

Thanks for reading my blog today.

When you’ve a few minutes to spare please visit my website http://www.spurwing-ebooks.com for details of all the ebooks I’ve published including the best selling detective novel A Single To Filey by Michael Murray.

 

Leave a Reply

