Cabbage and Semolina is available in the Kindle Store

My mother-in-law, Rose Murray, lived until she was ninety eight years old. We often encouraged Rose to write her life’s story. She was born in 1908 and, as she frequently reminded us, had lived through two world wars in the heart of London’s East End. Aged about ninety two Rose started to record her memories but it was too late. She couldn’t sustain the interest or the concentration; all she managed to capture was a short memoir about her childhood.

Rose’s memoir is a fascinating document and it’s such a pity that we didn’t help her to write more of her reminiscences while she was able.

Reading Rose’s memoir and thinking about her story made me decide I would record some of my own recollections of childhood while I still could. I started this blog, Cabbage and Semolina, where I captured some of my memories of my 1950s childhood. I’ve taken my blogposts from 2014, added a lot more to them and published my recollections as an ebook. It went live in the Amazon Kindle store on Sunday and you can read the free sample here if you would like to take a look.

This is the link for readers in the U.S.A. who would like to share my childhood memories of Britain in the 1950s.

C&S pink

 

Leave a Reply

